LeBeau defeats Frazier in CRST Chairmen’s race


Ryman Lebeau newly elected Chairman of the Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe (photo Oceti Sakonwin)

EAGLE BUTTE – A new Chairman will now lead the Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe, the tribe with the fourth largest land base in the Nation.

CRST held their General Election Tuesday, November 8 with voting taking place in 21 precincts in six districts. The unofficial results were released via the CRST Website.

Three term Chairman Harold Frazier, who was at the forefront of the NoDAPL movement and once served as Chairman of the Great Plains Tribal Chairman Association was defeated by Ryman LeBeau who received 1,273 votes to Frazier’s 781.

LeBeau has served as a Council Representative in District 5 and had two years left on his current term. A special election will take place in December to fill his vacant seat.

Kevin Keckler defeated Kenita Counting in the race for Treasurer-at-Large with Keckler receiving 1,174 votes to Counting’s 888 votes.

In District 1, Daniel Marshall defeated Bernita In The Wood by 177 votes to 138.

In District 3, Kenric Dupris defeated Michelle White Wolf by 159 votes to 101.

In District 4, Kelsie Kay Haskell with 271 votes and Thad Rose with 336 votes defeated Charles Fischer, 185 votes and Merrie Miller, 239 votes.

In District 5, Bob Walters with 206 votes and Joe Brings Plenty with 250 votes defeated Randel Lawrence, 113 votes and Robin LeBeau, 95 votes.

In District 6, Tuffy Thompson, defeated Dixie LeCompte 170 to 125 votes.

Official results will be released later this week after affidavits votes and challenge votes are counted.


The post LeBeau defeats Frazier in CRST Chairmen’s race first appeared on Native Sun News Today.

Visit Original Source

Shared by: Native Sun News Today